The MSU Debate Team does offer dedicated scholarships to some team members. Scholarships are awarded to both incoming students and to returning team members and are based on a combination of competitive success, commitment to the team and academic merit. 

Previous recipients of the Distinguished Debater Award:

  • Ezra Serrins, Austin, Texas, 2017
  • Lena Grossman, Niles, Illinois, 2016
  • Luc Walkington, Niles, Illinois, 2015
  • Connor Munsinger, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 2014
  • Margaret Strong, Homewood, Illinois, 2013
  • Tyler Thur, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 2012
  • Pablo Gannon, Rancho Cucamonga, California, 2011

​Inquiries about the Distinguished Debater Award should be directed to