Skip to content

MSU Debate Qualifies Third Team to National Debate Tournament

Michigan State University Debate qualified a third team to the National Debate Tournament (NDT). Only six schools nationally are allowed to qualify three teams to the NDT.

Lena Grossman, a philosophy senior, and Ezra Serrins, a comparative cultures and policies senior in the Honors College, received the news Thursday morning that they were qualified.

“This is a huge opportunity for the team,” said Will Repko, the MSU Debate Head Coach. “There are very few schools that have three teams at the NDT and all of our students are immensely deserving. We’re thrilled to have so many students representing MSU.”

Grossman and Serrins were undefeated at the district qualifying tournament in February but were narrowly ranked third behind two other teams from MSU. Because only two teams can qualify for the NDT through the district tournament, Grossman and Serrins applied for a “Second Round at Large Bid” to the NDT.

MSU last qualified three teams for nationals in 2019, proving that it remains an elite debate program.

The other colleges qualifying three teams are: Dartmouth College, Emory University, the University of Kansas, the University of Michigan and Wake Forest University.

The NDT, which begins March 25, is five days of competition with only the top 78 teams nationally invited. Teams will debate the year-long topic about whether the United States should reduce its alliance commitments with Japan, South Korea, the Philippines or the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

The MSU Debate team is part of the Honors College.

Back To Top